Demerit Point Information

P.O. Box 110302 Juneau, AK. 99811-0302 Phone: 907-789-6150 Fax: 907-789-6170 www.cfec.state.ak.us

In 1998, the Alaska Legislature enacted a law which assesses demerit points against salmon permit holders for fishing violations. The Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission (CFEC) is notified of those convictions by the Alaska Court System and assesses demerit points. An accumulation of points may result in the suspension of a permit for one to three years. After CFEC is notified of the conviction, the permit holder is sent a letter advising him/her of the conviction and demerit point assessment and given 45 days to request a hearing. The hearing rights are for the purpose of contesting the assessment of points but not for the violations themselves. Questions about fishing violations must be dealt with through court system personnel. CFEC only administers the demerit point system once there is a conviction. Demerit points are assessed against the permit holder for the fishery in which the violation occurred. If a permit has been emergency transferred and a violation occurs while the transferee is fishing the permit, any demerit points assessed for the violation will be assessed against both the transferor and the transferee.

CFEC will suspend a permit holder's commercial salmon fishing privileges for a period of one year if the permit holder accumulates 12 or more demerit points in a consecutive 36 month period as a result of convictions for violations of commercial fishing laws in the salmon fishery. Likewise, a permit will be suspended for two years if 16 or more points are accumulated in a 36 month period or three years if 18 or more points are accumulated in a 36 month period. AS 16.43.860 states that a permit holder who is suspended from fishing will not be allowed to crew in the fishery and will not be able to lease or rent his/her vessel for use in the salmon fishery for which the permit holder's fishing privileges are suspended. Information regarding demerit points can be found on CFEC's website at www.cfec.state.ak.us.

You can call the Licensing section at CFEC 907-789-6150 for more information.

Under AS 16.43.850(b), points are assessed for the following:

Fishing in closed waters Fishing during closed season or period Fishing with more than the legal amount of gear Fishing with gear not allowed in fishery Fishing before expiration of transfer period Interfering with commercial fishing gear Fishing with more than the legal amount of gear on vessel Improper operation of fishing gear Permit holder not present when required Fishing with under-length or over-length vessel	6 points 4 points 6 points 6 points 4 points 4 points 4 points 4 points 4 points
Fishing with under-length or over-length vessel Wanton waste of fishery resources	6 points

