Who signs the permit renewal or transfer forms
if the permit holder is deceased?

The surviving spouse or next of kin can sign on
behalf of the estate unless a personal representa-
tive has been appointed in which case he or she
should be completing all paperwork related to the
permit.

If the permit holder leaves a will naming some-
one to inherit the permit, can the permit au-
tomatically be transferred if the Commission
receives a copy of the will?

The estate would need to be probated before the
permit could be permanently transferred from the
estate to an heir.

How does the “Designation of Permit Recipient”
form work?

The holder of a transferable limited entry permit
may complete this form to name a person to
receive the permit in the event of the holder’s
death. The form must be signed by the permit
holder before a notary public, postmaster, judge, or
witnessed by two competent persons. The Commis-
sion acknowledges receipt of the form and main-
tains the original copy in the permit holder’s file.
When the Commission is notified that the permit
holder has passed, it must verify that there have
been no substantive changes which would void the
designation, such as marriage of the permit holder
or a will written which designates someone else to
receive the permit. After 90 days have elapsed, the
permit may be transferred to the named recipient.

Can a permit be placed in a trust?

Under Alaska law, a limited entry permit or
interim-use permit can only be held by an individual
person. Person, as defined under the Limited Entry
Act, means a natural person and does not include
a corporation, company, partnership, firm, associa-
tion, organization, business trust, or society.

How long can a permit be held in a deceased
permit holder’s estate?

Generally, probate proceedings must be com-
menced within three years from the date of the
permit holder’s death. If the permit has not been

finally disposed of as part of the deceased holder’s
estate, the personal representative can emergency
transfer the permit annually until the estate can be
closed.

What about estates valued at less than
$50,000?

Under Alaska law, estates valued at less than
$50,000 may be settled without going through
probate by using an Affidavit for Collection of Per-
sonal Property. Most permits are valued in excess
of $50,000, so this provision does not apply to
many fisheries. If the estate is less than $50,000,
you may wish to consult an attorney regarding the
use of an Affidavit for Collection of Personal
Property in transferring the permit from the estate.

What happens if no individual heir is named to
receive the permit and more than one heir is
entitled to inherit the estate?

A permit can only be held by one individual. In the
case of multiple heirs, generally an agreement
must be reached by the heirs for one of them to
hold the permit. Absent an agreement, the permit
could be sold and the proceeds divided. An
attorney may be helpful in the process.

What happens if a minor child, under the age
limit, inherits a permit?

The permit can be permanently transferred into the
minor’s name, and the minor’s legal guardian may
annually request emergency transfers of the permit
until the minor reaches the age of presumptive
ability to participate in the fishery. For set net
fisheries, that age is ten (10) years; for most other
fisheries, it is sixteen (16) years.

This summary information is presented as a courtesy by the
Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission but does not modify
or replace the agency’s statutory requirements in AS 16.43 or
regulatory requirements in Chapter 5 of Title 20, Alaska Admin-
istrative Code.

Photos courtesy of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game
and the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute.
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What is probate?

Probate is the court process to distribute
property from a deceased person’s estate to
those designated as beneficiaries in a will or
to those entitled to the property of the person
who passed away without a will.

Does the estate have to be probated in
order for the permit to be transferred?

Probate is generally necessary when the
permit has been bequeathed in a will or there
is not a suviving spouse.

If a permit holder dies during the fishery
can the boat and crew continue to fish?

The permit can be transferred to another
person on an emergency basis. The spouse
or next of kin must complete and sign a
Request for Emergency Transfer of Entry
Permit form and submit documentation of the
holder’s death. The emergency transfer would
be valid for the rest of the fishing season.

Can the permit holder leave the permit to
someone in the case of his or her death?

As long as the permit holder has a transfer-
able permit, it may be bequeathed to an heir
named in a will. Additionally, an unmarried
permit holder may file the Designation of
Permit Recipient Upon Permit Holder’s Death
form with the Commission designating the
intended recipient of the permit.

What happens to a permit if the permit
holder dies without a will?

Under Alaska law, if the permit holder does
not leave a will, rights to a transferable permit
automatically go to the surviving spouse. If
there is no spouse, the permit becomes part
of the deceased’s estate.

Can a permit be transferred to the spouse
if the permit holder dies?

Transferable limited entry permits survive the
death of the permit holder. If the permit holder
is survived by a spouse and there is no will

specifying that someone other than the spouse is
to receive the permit, it may be transferred directly
to the spouse by right of survivorship without

the estate being probated, provided the surviv-
ing spouse does not already hold a permit in the
same fishery. However, there is an exception for
the salmon fisheries, where a person may hold
two salmon permits but may fish only one. The
spouse may also wish to consider probate of the
estate including the permit.

How is a permit transferred by “right of
survivorship”?

The spouse may submit to the Commission the
Request for Permanent Transfer by Right of
Survivorship form along with a copy of the death
certificate. If the permit holder left a will, a copy
must also be submitted to the Commission.

Does the spouse have to fish the permit if it is
received by right of survivorship?

The spouse does not have to be physically able to
participate in the fishery to receive the permit by
survivorship. At the time of the transfer the spouse
must indicate if he/she is able to participate in the
fishery and intends to fish the permit.

What happens if the spouse cannot fish the
permit?

The surviving spouse is allowed to emergency
transfer the permit for three years from the date
of death of the permit holder. After that time, the

person who received the permit by right of
survivorship can no longer emergency transfer the
permit. As with any limited entry permit, the permit
does not have to be fished but it does have to be
renewed each year.

Can the spouse permanently transfer the per-
mit once it is in his or her name?

The spouse must file a Notice of Intent to Perma-
nently Transfer Entry Permit form which must be
on file for 60 days before the permit can be trans-
ferred. When the spouse is ready to transfer the
permit a Request for Permanent Transfer of Entry
Permit form must be completed by the buyer and
seller and submitted to the Commission.

If there is no surviving spouse, what happens
to the permit?

If the permit holder is not survived by a spouse,
the permit becomes part of the deceased permit
holder’s estate. In order to transfer the permit to a
person someone must be appointed by the court
to act as personal representative of the estate.
The personal representative has the authority

to permanently transfer the permit. If the permit
has not been finally disposed of as part of the
deceased holder’s estate, the personal represen-
tative can emergency transfer the permit annually
until the estate can be closed.

If the estate isn’t settled yet, can an emergency
transfer be granted?

If the permit has not been finally disposed of as
part of the deceased holder’s estate, the personal
representative can emergency transfer the permit
annually until the estate can be closed. The
representative would need to complete the
Request for Emergency Transfer of Entry Permit
form.

What if a personal representative hasn’t been
appointed yet?

The spouse or the next of kin may make a request
for an emergency transfer of the deceased permit
holder’s permit. The Commission must verify the
relationship before the request for emergency
transfer can be granted.



